Life in boxes

七月 14, 2010

Box in storage

Box in storage

I am planning to move back to White Rock before leaving Canada for a while. It is very funny seeing things in boxes now – just tells me how much baggage I am carrying. Some of them are symbols for memory (let’s call them indices) and some of them are just decorational items (or empty fields in database.)

Magnets

Magnets

Now looking back the past two years, it has been an amazing journey at this place. I get to put my own magnets on the refrigator – no more lame random magnets from government or non-profie agencies! I get to pick my own furnature – no more previously loved items from others. I get to fill out the closet – with cloths I actually purchased. I get to assemble my own living room and den – and fill them with myself only.

My own little backyard

My own little backyard

I have my own little space to grow something green. I have my own little space to dry my cloth. I have my own little space that requires constant vacuuming and cleaning. I even have my own washing machine, so I can wash my cloth the way I want, when I want.

It watched me every day

It watched me every day

I used to have a filled shelve, with all the books I loved and wanted to display to visitors. I remember buying these CD shelves from Ikea, thinking no one is as smart as me – using them as book shelves and saving quite a bit.

I really love living by myself. This is a different chapter in life, yet a positive step into a natural path of adulthood.

Bye, my own place. I will always miss you as you were an important part of my life. I will be back.

Tagged wall

Tagged wall

To quote from “Up In The Air", an important movie that semi-changed my life:

How much does your life weigh? Imagine for a second that you’re carrying a backpack. I want you to pack it with all the stuff that you have in your life… you start with the little things. The shelves, the drawers, the knickknacks, then you start adding larger stuff. Clothes, tabletop appliances, lamps, your TV… the backpack should be getting pretty heavy now. You go bigger. Your couch, your car, your home… I want you to stuff it all into that backpack. Now I want you to fill it with people. Start with casual acquaintances, friends of friends, folks around the office… and then you move into the people you trust with your most intimate secrets. Your brothers, your sisters, your children, your parents and finally your husband, your wife, your boyfriend, your girlfriend. You get them into that backpack, feel the weight of that bag. Make no mistake your relationships are the heaviest components in your life. All those negotiations and arguments and secrets, the compromises. The slower we move the faster we die. Make no mistake, moving is living.

Here is another one from the famous “The Curious Case of Benjamin Buttons":

[Voice over; letter to his daughter] For what it’s worth: it’s never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.

發表迴響

